Australian Government: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare METeOR Home Page

Tier 2 Non-Admitted Services classification (version 5.0)

Identifying and definitional attributes

Metadata item type:Help on this termClassification Scheme
Synonymous names:Help on this termTier 2 v5.0
METeOR identifier:Help on this term672642
Registration status:Help on this termHealth, Superseded 18/07/2020
Independent Hospital Pricing Authority, Standard 17/07/2018
Definition:Help on this term

A classification for non-admitted patient service events based on the type and specialty of the health-care professional providing the service and the nature of the non-admitted service.

Context:Help on this term

A list of outpatient clinics was developed in 1997–98 as an outcome of the Developmental Ambulatory Classification Study conducted by the National Hospital Cost Data Collection (NHCDC).

During 2011, the list was updated to accommodate the increase in services that were previously provided to inpatients being undertaken as outpatient services. This also included a full review of the classification in response to the National Health Reform Agreement 2011, which provided for the introduction of a national activity based funding (ABF) system. The aim was to develop a classification system for use with non-admitted services for ABF purposes. The classification has been reviewed annually from 2012–14 to ensure the classification's relevance and ability to meet the needs of the users.

Classification structure:Help on this term

Tier 2 classes provide a consistent framework for counting non-admitted service events. They are based on an assessment of both the type and specialty of the health-care professional providing the service and the nature of the service provided. This has resulted in a number of classes that is sufficient to ensure clinical meaningfulness and exclusivity across the spectrum of non-admitted services.

The classes are also grouped into a number of categories that reflects the type of service provided and the health-care professionals that typically provide the service. The classes are grouped into four categories, as follows:

  • procedures
  • medical consultation
  • stand-alone diagnostic
  • allied health/clinical nurse specialist intervention.

Source and reference attributes

Submitting organisation:Help on this term

Independent Hospital Pricing Authority

Origin:Help on this term

IHPA (Independent Hospital Pricing Authority) 2017. Tier 2 Non-Admitted Services Definitions Manual. Sydney:IHPA. accessed online 17 July 2018,

Relational attributes

Related metadata references:Help on this term

Supersedes Tier 2 Non-Admitted Services classification (version 4.1) Health, Superseded 12/12/2018, ACT Health, Final 08/08/2018

Has been superseded by Tier 2 Non-Admitted Services classification (version 6.0) Health, Superseded 05/02/2021

Value Domains based on this classification scheme:Help on this term

Non-admitted service type code (Tier 2 v5.0) NN.NN Health, Superseded 17/07/2020
Tasmanian Health, Endorsed 11/05/2020
Independent Hospital Pricing Authority, Standard 17/07/2018

My items Help on this term
Download Help on this term