Diagnosis—diagnosis/procedure/intervention classification type, code XXX[XXXX]

Identifying and definitional attributes

Metadata item type:Data Element
Short name:Diagnosis/Procedure/Intervention classification type
METeOR identifier:663071
Registration status:WA Health, Endorsed 01/06/2017

The code that identifies the classification system used to assign a diagnosis, procedure or intervention code in a patient's medical record.

Data Element Concept:Diagnosis—diagnosis/procedure/intervention classification type

Value domain attributes

Representational attributes

Representation class:Code
Data type:String
Maximum character length:7
Permissible values:
ICD9CMAInternational Classification of Disease (ICD) ninth edition - Canadian modified (AU)
ICD10AMInternational Classification of Disease (ICD) tenth edition - Australian modified
HICHealth issue code
ICPC2+International Classification of Primary Care, Version 2 (ICPC-2) PLUS
MDCMajor Diagnostic Category

Data element attributes

Collection and usage attributes

Collection methods:


International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM) is the official system of assigning codes to diagnoses and procedures associated with hospital utilisation in the United States. It is based on the World Health Organization's Ninth Revision, International Classification of Diseases (ICD-9).

ICD-9-CM consists of:

  • a tabular list containing a numerical list of the disease code numbers in tabular form
  • an alphabetic index of the disease entries
  • a classification system for surgical, diagnostic and therapeutic procedures (alphabetic index and tabular list).

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services are the US government agencies responsible for overseeing all changes and modifications to the ICD-9-CM.



International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Australian Modification (ICD-10-AM) includes Australian extensions of the World Health Organization codes in ICD-10 and some specific Australian disease codes. Also included is a classification of procedures based on the Commonwealth Medicare Benefits Schedule (MBS) of fees for health services.

ICD-10-AM uses an alphanumeric coding scheme for diseases and external causes of injury. It is structured by body system and aetiology, and comprises three, four and five character categories.

It is the standard classification scheme now used for reporting diagnoses in all Hospital statistical collections, including the National Minimum Data Set and the Hospital Casemix Protocol.

ICD-10-AM consists of:

  • a tabular list of three character codes with some expansion to four and five character codes
  • an alphabetic index of diseases.

The alphabetic index comprises three sections:

  • Section I is the index of diseases, syndromes, pathological conditions, injuries, signs, symptoms, problems and other reasons for contact with health services.
  • Section II is the index of external causes of injury. The terms included here refer to descriptions of the circumstances in which the violence occurred rather than medical diagnoses.
  • Section III is the index of drugs and other chemical substances giving rise to poisoning or other adverse effects (also known as the Table of drugs and chemicals).

The National Centre for Classification in Health (NCCH) as the lead organisation of the Australian Consortium for Classification Development (ACCD) is the Australian body responsible for preparing, updating and publishing new editions of ICD-10-AM.



International Classification of Primary Care, Version 2 (ICPC-2) PLUS is a coding system that allows health professionals to record symptoms, diagnoses (problem labels), past health problems and processes (such as procedures, counselling and referrals) at the point of care. It can be used in age-sex disease registers, morbidity registers and full electronic health records in primary care.

ICPC-2 PLUS is primarily used in Australia. General Practitioners from a mix of both rural and urban practices use it in their electronic health records. ICPC-2 PLUS is also currently implemented across a number of primary health care settings including software packages used by Aboriginal medical services, prisoner health, community health and allied health.

A mapping system has been developed, which enables the terms used in ICPC-2 PLUS to be matched to ICD-10-AM codes.

The ICPC-2 PLUS terminology is maintained and regularly updated by the Family Medicine Research Centre (FMRC), at the University of Sydney.



Australian Refined Diagnosis Related Groups (AR-DRGs) is an Australian admitted patient classification system that provides a clinically meaningful way of relating the number and type of patients treated in a hospital to the resources required by the hospital.

The Major Diagnostic Category (MDC) represents the category that the patient's diagnosis and the associated AR-DRG fall into. The MDC is generally based on a single body system or aetiology that is associated with a particular medical specialty.

Relational attributes

Implementation in Data Set Specifications:

WA Health Non-Admitted Patient Activity and Wait List Data Collection (NAPAAWL DC) 2016-17 WA Health, Endorsed 30/05/2017