Australian Government: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare METeOR Home Page

Mental health phase of care

Identifying and definitional attributes

Metadata item type:Help on this termGlossary Item
METeOR identifier:Help on this term653243
Registration status:Help on this termHealth, Superseded 25/01/2018
Definition:Help on this term

The mental health phase of care is defined as the prospective primary goal of treatment within the episode of care in terms of the recognised phases of mental health care. Whilst it is recognised that there may be aspects of each mental health phase of care represented in the consumer’s mental health plan, the mental health phase of care is intended to identify the main goal or aim that will underpin the next period of care.

The mental health phase of care is independent of both the treatment setting and the designation of the treating service, and does not reflect service unit type.

The five mental health phases of care are:

1 Acute

2 Functional gain

3 Intensive extended

4 Consolidating gain

5 Assessment only.

Source and reference attributes

Reference documents:Help on this term

Independent Hospital Pricing Authority 2016. Mental Health Phase of Care Guide. Independent Hospital Pricing Authority, Sydney. Viewed 7 September 2016,

Relational attributes

Related metadata references:Help on this term

Has been superseded by Mental health phase of care Health, Standard 25/01/2018

Supersedes Mental health phase of care Health, Proposed 13/10/2015, Independent Hospital Pricing Authority, Standardisation pending 23/11/2015

Metadata items which use this glossary item:Help on this term

Activity based funding: Mental health care NBEDS 2017-18 Health, Superseded 25/01/2018

Episode of care—mental health care phase, code N Health, Superseded 25/01/2018

My items Help on this term
Download Help on this term