Australian Government: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare METeOR Home Page


Identifying and definitional attributes

Item type:Help on this termData Source
Description:Help on this term

The National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) is an annual assessment for students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9. It has been an everyday part of the school calendar since 2008.

NAPLAN tests the sorts of skills that are essential for every child to progress through school and life, such as reading, writing, spelling and numeracy. The assessments are undertaken nationwide, every year, in the second full week in May.

NAPLAN is made up of tests in the four areas (or ‘domains’) of:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Language Conventions (spelling, grammar and punctuation)
  • Numeracy.NAPLAN tests skills in literacy and numeracy that are developed over time through the school curriculum.

From 2009, national reporting on schooling is the responsibility of the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) -

Collection and usage attributes

Implementation start date:Help on this term01/01/2009

Source and reference attributes

Reference documents:Help on this term

ACARA (Australian Curriculum Assessment and Reporting Authority) 2016. National data collection and reporting. Viewed 4 December 2017,