Australian state/territory code AA[A]

Exported from METEOR (AIHW's Metadata Online Registry)

© Australian Institute of Health and Welfare 2024

This product, excluding the AIHW logo, Commonwealth Coat of Arms and any material owned by a third party or protected by a trademark, has been released under a Creative Commons BY4.0 (CC BY4.0) licence. Excluded material owned by third parties may include, for example, design and layout, images obtained under licence from third parties and signatures. We have made all reasonable efforts to identify and label material owned by third parties.

You may distribute, remix and build on this website's material but must attribute the AIHW as the copyright holder, in line with our attribution policy. The full terms and conditions of this licence are available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/.

Enquiries relating to copyright should be addressed to info@aihw.gov.au.

Enquiries or comments on the METEOR metadata or download should be directed to the METEOR team at meteor@aihw.gov.au.

Australian state/territory code AA[A]

Identifying and definitional attributes

Metadata item type:	Value Domain
METEOR identifier:	639220
Registration status:	Commonwealth Department of Social Services (retired), Standard 20/06/2018
Definition:	A code set representing Australian states and territories.

Representational attributes

Representation class:	Code	
Data type:	String	
Format:	AA[A]	
Maximum character length:	3	
	Value	Meaning
Permissible values:	ACT	Australian Capital Territory
	NSW	New South Wales
	NT	Northern Territory
	QLD	Queensland
	SA	South Australia
	TAS	Tasmania
	VIC	Victoria
	WA	Western Australia
	EXT	Other territories (Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Christmas Island and Jervis Bay Territory)
	IOB	International Operations Branch

Collection and usage attributes

Guide for use: The order presented here is that used by the Australian Government Department of Social Services. Other organisations (including the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare) publish data in state order based on population (that is, Western Australia before South Australia and Australian Capital Territory before Northern Territory).

Source and reference attributes

Submitting organisation: Australian Government Department of Social Services

Relational attributes

Data elements	Person—area of usual residence, Australian state/territory code AA[A]
implementing this value	Commonwealth Department of Social Services (retired), Standard 20/06/2018
domain:	