

© Australian Institute of Health and Welfare 2024

This product, excluding the AlHW logo, Commonwealth Coat of Arms and any material owned by a third party or protected by a trademark, has been released under a Creative Commons BY 4.0 (CC BY 4.0) licence. Excluded material owned by third parties may include, for example, design and layout, images obtained under licence from third parties and signatures. We have made all reasonable efforts to identify and label material owned by third parties.

You may distribute, remix and build on this website's material but must attribute the AlHW as the copyright holder, in line with our attribution policy. The full terms and conditions of this licence are available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/.

Enquiries relating to copyright should be addressed to info@aihw.gov.au.

Enquiries or comments on the METEOR metadata or download should be directed to the METEOR team at meteor@aihw.gov.au.

Medicare Local code AANNN

Identifying and definitional attributes

Metadata item type: Value Domain

METEOR identifier: 512829

Registration status: National Health Performance Authority (retired), Retired 01/07/2016

Definition: A code set representing the **Medicare Locals** into which each Australian

state/territory is divided for the purposes of primary health care service provision

and administration.

Representational attributes

Representation class: Code Data type: String Format: **AANNN**

Maximum character length:	5	
	Value	Meaning
Permissible values:	ML101	Eastern Sydney
	ML102	Inner West Sydney
	ML103	South Eastern Sydney
	ML104	South Western Sydney
	ML105	Western Sydney
	ML106	Nepean - Blue Mountains
	ML107	Northern Sydney
	ML108	Sydney North Shore and Beaches
	ML109	Central Coast NSW
	ML110	Illawarra - Shoalhaven
	ML111	Hunter
	ML113	North Coast NSW
	ML114	New England
	ML115	Western NSW
	ML116	Murrumbidgee
	ML117	Southern NSW
	ML118	Far West NSW
	ML201	Inner North West Melbourne
	ML202	Bayside
	ML203	South Western Melbourne
	ML204	Macedon Ranges and North Western Melbourne
	ML205	Northern Melbourne
	ML206	Inner East Melbourne
	ML207	Eastern Melbourne
	ML208	South Eastern Melbourne
	ML209	Frankston - Mornington Peninsula
	ML210	Barwon

ML211	Grampians
ML212	Great South Coast
ML213	Lower Murray
ML214	Loddon - Mallee - Murray
ML215	Goulburn Valley
ML216	Hume
ML217	Gippsland
ML301	Metro North Brisbane
ML302	Greater Metro South Brisbane
ML303	Gold Coast
ML304	Sunshine Coast
ML305	West Moreton - Oxley
ML306	Darling Downs - South West Queensland
ML307	Wide Bay
ML308	Central Queensland
ML309	Central and North West Queensland
ML310	Townsville - Mackay
ML311	Far North Queensland
ML401	Northern Adelaide
ML402	Central Adelaide and Hills
ML403	Southern Adelaide - Fleurieu - Kangaroo Island
ML404	Country South SA
ML405	Country North SA
ML501	Perth Central and East Metro
ML502	Perth North Metro
ML503	Fremantle
ML504	Bentley - Armadale
ML505	Perth South Coastal
ML506	South West WA
ML507	Goldfields - Midwest
ML508	Kimberley - Pilbara
ML601	Tasmania
ML701	Northern Territory
ML801	Australian Capital Territory

Collection and usage attributes

Comments:

Maps of the geographical areas covered by the various Medicare Locals and associated digital boundary files, suitable for use in geographic information systems, can be obtained from the Medicare Locals page on the Department of Health and Ageing website:

Medicare locals, Canberra. Viewed 14 July 2014,

<u>List of Local Government Areas and Statistical Local Areas for each Medicare Local in Excel format (Excel 611 KB)</u>

Source and reference attributes

Submitting organisation: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

Relational attributes

Data elements implementing this value domain:

Administrative health region—Medicare Local identifier, code AANNN National Health Performance Authority (retired), Retired 01/07/2016